What Max Means To Us

October is Down Syndrome Awareness Month.   We thought this would be a perfect opportunity for each of us to share what Max means to us and how he has totally changed the world as we know it!

Leigh

Max is many things, he is a son, a brother, a friend.  One thing I never expected him to be was my teacher.  But that is exactly what this little man has been in my life!   He has taught me that family is the most important thing in this world.  The joy on his face when his “whole family” is home totally melts my heart.  He has taught me that with patience and perseverance any obstacle can be conquered.  The most important lesson he has taught me is how to love.  Max loves in a no questions asked, no judgments passed, in a one hundred percent unconditional way!  I am beyond grateful to have the One-in-a- million-Max in my life!

photo

Kelsey

Words really can not describe the way I feel for my brother Max. It’s difficult living so far away from him. He has a smile that melts my heart. Whenever I am down I call him to cheer me up. I’m very excited to see what an awesome uncle he will make! (That’s right world, there is a baby Shields due to arrive in March!!!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Grace

My Max. What to say… any attempt to explain what that boy has brought into my life will fall short. Max is truly the best, most unexpected and most undeserved gift that God has given me… He is also the most needed of all the gifts that have been placed in my life. Max has taught me so much about love: about how to give it, and also how to receive it. Max gives everything that he has to the people around him… he uses his entire capability…when he can’t do something, he joyfully allows us to help him. Max has shown me how to give my all, to accept my own limits and find joy in knowing there are people in my life who will help me when I can’t get by on my own. Also… DANCING. Dancing will always bring laughter. 🙂

973616_10201455203928734_1993399131_n

Mary

I honestly can’t even imagine what my life would be like without Max. He is the glue that holds our family together… a very, VERY strong glue. I also think he has a sixth sense. He can pick up on what kind of mood I’m in, whether I’m happy, sad… well you get it. He knows how to cheer me up and make me laugh, he also knows when to just give me a hug. I can’t think of a time when I was upset about something and Max couldn’t make me feel better. He’s so smart, witty and goofy. I love my Maxxy, and I’m lucky to have a job close to home and that I get to be around him so much more than my other siblings 😉

1383037_10202224824408765_1848038098_n

Ben

Max is my only brother, and he means the world to me.  I don’t know what I would do without him.  Seeing him just being who he is everyday, has taught me to find true joy in life and not worry about things I can’t control. I love the kid!

1069812_10201618196243440_2025248313_n

Therese

Max is my best friend. He is always there for me and always ready to make me laugh. I love him with my whole heart and always will!

582641_407683249294930_906855472_n

2 thoughts on “What Max Means To Us

  1. Max makes me smile each and every time I get to see him, and I’m sure it’s the same for everyone who has the privilege of knowing him. He’s been like a sweet big brother to our three girls, who of course think of the world of him! We’re so happy to know you, Max!

Leave a comment